Cartwright, Druker & Ryden Law Offices
Home Our History Attorneys Contact Us Resources

Alex Grasso

James Weber
PH: 641-752-5467
FAX: 641-752-4370


Alex practices litigation related to insurance law, personal injury, and criminal law.

Professional Experience

  • Joined Cartwright, Druker & Ryden in 2013.
  • 2015 Rising Star Award, Iowa Defense Counsel Association

Professional Activities

  • Member, Iowa Defense Counsel Association
  • Member, Defense Research Institute
  • Member, Young Lawyers Division, Iowa State Bar Association
  • Member, Marshall County Bar Association
  • Student Member, Dean Mason Ladd Inn of Court (Summer 2012-Spring 2013)

Community Involvement

  • Board Member, Friends of the Marshalltown Public Library
  • Board Member, Marshalltown United Way

Admitted to Practice (State)

  • Iowa 2013

Admitted to Practice (Federal)

  • Northern District of Iowa 2014
  • Southern District of Iowa 2014


  • Associating as an Associate: The Value of Professional Association Membership, University of Iowa College of Law Lawyers & Leaders Event, March 6, 2015
  • Caselaw Update: Employment Law and Civil Procedure, Iowa Defense Counsel Association Annual Meeting, September 18, 2015


  • Baylor University (double major; B.A. in French/B.A. in Psychology, 2009)
    • Honors Program Graduate
    • Phi Gamma Delta
    • Completed three months of study at the Alliance Française in Paris, France
    • Baylor University Concert Jazz Ensemble (including a concert with award-winning trumpet virtuoso, Ingrid Jensen)
  • University of Iowa (J.D., 2013)
    • Trial Advocacy Board
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution Team
    • Coordinator, Judge Roy L. Stephenson Advocacy Competition

Personal Interests

As a guitar player, Alex has played in many different types of ensembles, occasionally getting paid for his noisy contributions. He has played in ensembles for musicals (Children of Eden), jazz groups (TS Funk, Baylor Concert Jazz Ensemble), cover bands (Phi Gamma Delta House Band), Iowa Rock n' Roll Hall of Fame inductees (Tony Brown), and original artists (Gone South, J.B. Morrison Band).